top of page

Inspired Story

There are many ghoststories and tales about monsters that lurk in the darkness that stays with us for our entire lives. These same folklore beliefs spark new ideas and give way to the creation of other characters or stories. They serve as an inspiration for many of our entertainment, playing off our fears, just like Mr. Boodoosingh who was kind enough to share his story with me. So I have decided to post the story on my blog so that everyone can read and see how one can be inspired by local folklore. Do enjoy!

Amy

by Motilal Boodoosingh

"Oh God, I just come from work. I real tired. Ent I leave food and water for you. Whey you rubbing up me leg so for? All I want is to get a little rest after that slave driver Alex. I swear I have to leave that wuk before I go kill he."

"Meow, Meeeooow."

"You want to go outside? Here go and do you thing. I know you does be lonely, whole day staying home alone. But I can't leave you outside. You know how the neighbour dog bad."

"Meow, Meeeoow."

"What you still here and still rubbing up? Sometimes I does be sorry I let you in the house in the first place. But I was real lonely when Amy died. Ah thought you woulda be good company. All right, all right I really glad you here with me."

"I does wonder where you come from. That day you save my life. I was coming home with tears in my eyes after the funeral and ah cyar even see whey ah going and crossing the road in front of the car. Whey you come from and whey you get the strength to knock me away from the car? Like you is Super Cat?"

"After the funeral I didn't even want to get up, didn't even want to eat and drink anything. Like I didn't get out of bed for two days until you making noise and licking my face. I used to hear the phone ringing and still not get up. Is you who bring me back to the world of the living."

"Meow"

"And you wouldn't even leave me alone. You even want to sleep in the bed but I doh mind. You waking me up in the morning in time to go to work, pulling me pants to guide me to the kitchen and you not leaving me till I get something to eat. Like somebody send you to take care of me. Lord if wasn't for you I woulda go mad by now. They say dog is man's best friend but to me is cat who is man's best friend."

"Meeoow."

"Sometimes I feel you does be understanding everything I say. You know Amy was always listening to me when I come from work. Never complaining, just making me feel comfortable."

"Lord, I really miss Amy. I did like everything about she except that friend Anna, the one who use to play spiritual advisor. Blasted Obeah Ooman just robbing poor people! Putting all them thing in she head about how she should do a special puja before she travel. And all this time like she checking me out. Amy did say she harmless and how she was she best friend in school. I feel she did get Anna to do something before we went for holiday. I tell she that woman was bad news but Amy din have the heart to think bad about anybody."

cheshire cat black

"Meeoow, meow."

"Hmmm....Since you here I doh feel so lonely. Sometimes Idoes feel like Amy still here, like if she watching and listening to me."

"And after the funeral Anna coming here often, often. She bringing food and thing for me. But not me. I does say I not hungry now but I go eat it later and throw it away when she gone."

"You want help to clean up Mr. B? You frighten to stay alone Mr. B?"

"The only thing I frighten about is she! That is why I glad you here with me."

"You listening eh, just like Amy. She was a sweet woman. Come leh me scratch behind you ears. You like that eh."

"Meeeooow."

"Is one year now since she dead. And she was never sick in her life. Just as we comeback from holiday she get sick in the morning and dead in the evening. Up to now doctors can't say why. She talk good, good in the morning saying she go never leave me and in th evening she gone."

"Meow, meeeoow."

"Why they does call it anniversary, it have nothing to celebrate, just grief and memories to make me sad."

"I glad you come here. Like you is my protector. The last time Anna come here with she food and thing, when she see you like she get stupid."

"Whey you get that cat Mr. B?" she ask me".

"Ha ha ha...And the way you jump and scratch she face I could see how much you hate she. She never come back again."

"Meeoow."

"I will always love Amy, but sometimes I does feel like I want a woman, especially when I see Monique in the office with that short skirt and like she breast want to pop out she top. Today like she skirt was a belt. I couldn't watch she straight when we was talking."

"Meeooow."

"Yes I agree with you. Let me go and take a shower and cool down, then we go sit down and watch TV."

"But wait nah, Alex on TV. Lemme siddong and see this. You hear the stupidness Alex talking?"

"Meow."

"Yes girl, I know you does understand. But eh, eh, whey you jumping up on my lap for? Whey you pulling me towel for? Whey you doing? What you licking that for?"

"Oh God, ...Amy is you!"

"Meeeoow."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
bottom of page